Idiot im Ausland | A blog from my travels

The best experience of my life (so far) was my time studying abroad in Germany. Whilst there I wrote a blog called ‘Idiot im Ausland’ (idiot abroad) where I kept my friends and family updated with my trip. Here’s a few of the highlights from my adventure.


LOST IN TRANSLATION

IMG_0365

When someone (especially an idiot!) tries to speak a foreign language, something will go wrong. Sentences can get horribly complicated in German, and pronouncing some of the words can just be too much for my feeble, English mouth.

Here are some of my more amusing and embarrassing errors.

To my housemate:

Tried to say – Do you like to play board games? 

Actually said – Do you like to play bed games?

Talking about Tübingen:

Tried to say – Everyone here is really nice!

Actually said – Everyone here is gorgeous!

Talking about the night before

Tried to say – I have a hangover.

Actually said – I have a map.

To all my housemates:

Tried to say – I’ll come back in a minute.

Actually said – I’m about to climax.

 


JUST GERMAN THINGS

300070_10150396123421753_675346752_9909813_1310409825_n

Favourite German verb:  Jammern (to whine)

Favourite German place name: Wankheim

Favourite German name: Sissy

Favourite German word: Straßenbahnhaltestelle (Tram stop)

Favourite German food: Döner Kebab

Things that are better in Germany: Transport, Food, Beer, Health, Weather.

Things that are worse in Germany: Internet access, Mobile Phones, Tea, Being vegetarian, Humour!

 


I WANT MY SUNDAY ROAST (poem)

IMG_0539

I’m sitting at my desk,

Conscious of the ghost,

It’s not a missing person,

It’s the Sunday Roast.

 

The habits of the English

Must be stranger than most,

I’m sat here in Tübingen,

I miss my Sunday Roast.

 

The things that make it special:

Good wine, a warm host,

Beef drowning in Gravy,

I want my Sunday Roast.

 

The crispy Yorkshire Pudding,

“my mum’s one’s best” you’ll boast.

Mums tend to be the experts,

But where’s my Sunday Roast?

 

There’s Snitchel here, and Bratwurst,

And ‘Fisch’, fresh from the coast.

But I don’t fancy that stuff.

I’d like a Sunday Roast.

 

I’ve had cornflakes for breakfast.

Lunch was beans on Toast.

I’m ready now, for dinner,

A proper Sunday Roast.

 

So mum, here’s a request:

Put it through the post,

Remember not to mash the swede,

Send me a Sunday Roast.

 

I’ll get some beers to celebrate,

And clinking them, we’ll say ‘Prost!’

I’ll sit down and enjoy

My- delicious salami sandwich.

Leave a comment